About the CCSA

About the CCSA

The Coastal Collegiate Sports Association (CCSA) is a progressive NCAA Division I conference dedicated to the enhancement of opportunities for students.

Founded in 2008 as the Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association, the CCSA has always built championship athletic opportunities for college students. The CCSA was founded jointly by the Atlantic Sun, Big South, Mid-Eastern Athletic (MEAC), and the Southern Conferences to provide a championship opportunity for swimming and diving students at their member institutions. Over the next decade, the CCSA grew to include members as far north as Newark, NJ and west as San Antonio.

In the summer of 2015, the CCSA announced an expansion of championship opportunities with the addition of Beach Volleyball as it’s first sport addition since formation of the league. With the addition, came a change of name to the Coastal Collegiate Sports Association. The CCSA was one of only five conferences to sponsor Beach Volleyball in its first year as a championship sport in the NCAA. With the addition comes expanded opportunities for students pursuing athletics.

The CCSA is dedicated to the students who compete in its championships and their success in the classroom, in the field of competition, and life after graduation.  

For the 2019-2020 Academic Year

Sports: 3 - Men’s and Women’s Swimming & Diving, Women’s Beach Volleyball
Institutions: 26
Geography: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia, Washington DC 


Women's Swimming & Diving Schools                     Men's Swimming & Diving Schools                     Women's Beach Volleyball Schools
Campbell (Big South) FAU (Conference USA) UAB (Conference USA)
FGCU (ASUN) Gardner-Webb (Big South) College of Charleston (CAA)
Gardner-Webb (Big South) Howard (MEAC) FAU(Conference USA) 
Georgia Southern (Sun Belt) Incarnate Word (Southland) FIU (Conference USA)
Howard (MEAC) Mount St. Mary's (NEC) Florida State (ACC)
Incarnate Word (Southland)  NJIT (ASUN) Georgia State (Sun Belt)
Liberty (ASUN) Old Dominion (Conference USA)  Louisiana Monroe (Sun Belt)
North Florida (ASUN)   LSU (SEC)
UNC Asheville (Big South)   Missouri State (The Valley) 
    South Carolina (SEC)
    Southern Miss (Conference USA)
    TCU (Big 12)
    Tulane (American Athletic)  
    UNCW (CAA)  


Staff Directory

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Ted Gumbart
(478) 474-3394
Dennis Thomas
Vice President
(757) 416-7100
Kyle Kallander
(704) 341-7990
Kathy Peterson
Senior Woman Administrator
(239) 590-7018
Jerome Rodgers
(478) 474-3394 jerome.rodgers@asunsports.org
Porscha Tidwell
Assistant Commissioner
(478) 474-3394 porscha.tidwell@asunsports.org
Morgan Huttenlocker
Director of CCSA Media Relations (Beach Volleyball)
(478) 474-3394 morgan.huttenlocker@asunsports.org
Dylan Shanklin
CCSA Media Relations Coordinator (Swimming & Diving)
(704) 341-7990 dylans@bigsouth.org
Joshua Arnold
Championships Coordinator
(478) 474-3394 joshua.arnold@asunsports.org
Gabrielle Davis
Championships Coordinator
(478) 474-3394 gabrielle.davis@asunsports.org