Men's Swimming & Diving

Incarnate Word Remains atop the Standings at the CCSA Championships

Incarnate Word Remains atop the Standings at the CCSA Championships

Athens, Ga. ( – The Incarnate Word men's swimming and diving team remains in first place with 592 points after day three of the 2018 CCSA Swimming and Diving Championship in Gabrielsen Natatorium on the campus of the University of Georgia.

Old Dominion claims second place with 503 points, Gardner-Webb moves up to third place with 412.5 points, followed by Florida Atlantic with 325.5 points. New Jersey Institute of Technology is in fifth with 161 points, Howard is in sixth with 144 points and Mount Saint Mary's finishes seventh with 131 points.

Filip Svedberg of Old Dominion grabbed the first victory on the men's side in the 100-yard butterfly with his time of 47.74. Seggio Bernandina of Gardner-Webb followed in 48.28. Fellow teammate Cullen Fields claimed third with his finish of 48.41.

In the 400-yard individual medley, Incarnate Word's Hector Ruvalcaba Cruz finished atop the podium with a 3:50.00 finish. He was followed by Nick Wukovits of Old Dominion where he secured a time of 3:52.72. Gardner-Webb's Justin Conklin rounded out the top three with his time of 3:54.60.

Kyrylo Shvets of Incarnate Word took the 200-yard freestyle title in 1:37.67. He was followed by Colin Kozak of Florida Atlantic with his time of 1:39.33, then Parker Harp from Old Dominion who grabbed a time of 1:39.70.  

In the 100-yard breaststroke, Sasha Karpenko of Incarnate Word took the top spot in 54.04. A pair of Old Dominion swimmers followed which included Nick Wukovits with his time of 54.10 and Peter Durisin who finished in 55.20.

Incarnate Word's Aaron Moran took first in the 100-yard backstroke with a 49.28 finish. Fellow Cardinal Vlad Chumak claimed a time of 49.33 to finish second. Anton Mikealsson of Old Dominion finished third with a 49.55 finish.

Incarnate Word's 400-yard medley relay A-Team won the last swimming event of the day in a time of 3:15.57. The team was comprised of Aaron Moran, Sasha Karpenko, Hector Ruvalcaba Cruz and Kyrylo Shvets.

All of the day three results can be found here. The CCSA Championship finish on Saturday, February 17 at 10:00 a.m., starting with the 200-yard backstroke preliminaries. The event finals for the final day of competition will start at 6:00 p.m.