Men's Swimming & Diving

CCSA Announces Men's Post Season Awards

CCSA Announces Men's Post Season Awards

LakePoint, Ga. ( –  UMBC senior Gregor Spoerlein (Bamberg, Germany) has been named the CCSA Men's Swimmer of the Year, while Florida Atlantic's Ryan McIntire (Neptune Beach. Fla.) has been named CCSA Men's Diver of the Week, for meets contested throughout the 2016-17 season. Additionally, Connor Bos (Holland, Michigan) from Gardner-Webb has been named the Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the CCSA announced Thursday.

Spoerlein had a hand in seven different medals at the CCSA Championships for the Retrievers, including five gold medals. He earned gold in the 800 free relay, 50 free, 200 free relay and 400 free relay. At the ECAC Championships a week later, Gregor earned a silver medal in the 50 free, while helping the Retrievers to gold medals in the 200medley relay and 800 free relay. The 800 free relay broke an ECAC record on the final day of competition.

McIntire claimed first place on both the 1 and 3 Meter at the CCSA Conference Championships.  In addition, he set both the Championship Meet and overall Conference records on both boards.  His scores of 398.35 (1 Meter) and 414.55 (3 Meter) also set FAU school records and qualified him for the NCAA Zone Meet at the University of Auburn.

Bos holds a 4.0 GPA in Finance and Economics this year. He is an 8-time conference champion and 6-time conference champion in relays. At Gardner-Webb, he is the Vice President for SGA and has taken part in Relay for Life, N.C. Special Olympics, and Octoberfest.

Also nominated for Swimmer of the Year: Jacob Zeidler (Old Dominion)
Also nominated for Diver of the Year: Corey Moreno (Old Dominion)
Also nominated for Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Connor Hodges (Florida Atlantic), Scott Quirie (NJIT), Lucas Cortini Oliveira (Old Dominion), and Alexander Gliese (UMBC)