Men's Swimming & Diving

UMBC Takes First Place After First Day of CCSA Championships

UMBC Takes First Place After First Day of CCSA Championships

Athens, Ga. ( – The UMBC men's swimming and diving team is in first place with 187 points after the first day of the 2017 CCSA Swimming and Diving Championship in Gabrielson Natatorium on the campus of the University of Georgia.

Old Dominion takes second place with 166 points, Florida Atlantic takes third place with 162 points, followed by Incarnate Word with 159 points. New Jersey Institute of Technology is in fifth with 156 points, Gardner-Webb is in sixth with 118 points, Howard is in seventh, and Virginia Military Institute sits at eighth with 88 points.

In the 800-yard freestyle relay, UMBC's A-team comprised of Ilia Rattsev, Ahmed Wahby, Nikola Trajkovic, and Gregor Spoerlein finished first with a time of 6:30.95. Incarnate Word's Kyrylo Shvets, Beau Fusilier, Jack Hennessey II, and Hector Ruvalcaba-Cruz finished second with a time of 6:32.71, while Zach Dingfield, Hal McKay, Mason Hutchinson, Cameron Pou from Gardner-Webb finished third with a time of 6:39.76.

Gardner-Webb's 200-yard medley relay team Connor Bos, Jordan Mintz, Tyler Gomez, and Hal McKay tabbed first with a time of 1:27.66, followed by Old Dominion who took second with a time of 1:29.21. Old Dominion's team was comprised of Donovan Pope, Jacob Zeidler, Filip Svedberg, and Graham Thatcher. UMBC's Alexander Gliese, Cardenas Galvan, Philip Adejumo, and Gregor Spoerlein tabbed third with a time of 1:29.32

Florida Atlantic's Ryan McIntire claimed first place in the 1-meter dive with a score 398.35, which broke the CCSA Championship meet record as well as the overall CCSA record. Incarnate Word's Dawson Martinez finished in second with a score of 350.35, followed by Elijah Wright from UMBC who finished third with a score of 325.10.

The CCSA Championship will continue on Thursday, February 19 at 10:00 a.m., starting with the 500-yard freestyle preliminaries. The event finals for day two will start at 6:00 p.m.